Grocery Shopping the day before the super bowl…

Bad idea! The stores were packed full of people getting chips and snack foods.  Whole foods had 6 different kinds of wings in their prepared foods section.  I’m a bit of a wing fan.  I grew up in western New York, where every bar had wings and they came in flavors like mild, medium, hot and holy bejeezus where’s the fire extinguisher.  In wing related news it’s my birthday and there is one place in Kent, Ohio that has really freaking good wings.  Ray’s place has some fantastic hot wings, that’s where I’ll be tonight, eating some deep fried, in what is probably soybean oil, awesomeness  with fresh cut sweet potato fries.  They’re not paleo or primal but they’re damned good.

 

Back to grocery shopping.  Wading through the masses at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods I ended up with about 2 weeks worth of meats.  Maybe a little more and about a week and a half worth of veggies.   I usually make a note in my phone throughout the week of things I want to make for the next week.  This week it looked something like this:

 

Pasta Sauce(I still call it pasta sauce even though it never ends up on pasta)

Meatza

Meatballs

Short Ribs

Brocolini

Brisket with mushrooms

Chipotle chicken

Boursin and bacon stuffed chicken

 

Then I go through and figure out what I need for each dish and that’s how I organize my shopping list. I write all on a little white board because otherwise I use four pieces of paper to end up with one grocery list.  Some of this I have in my kitchen and so I cross that out on the whiteboard.  That’s the final list.

 

 

Pasta sauce

Crushed Tomatoes

Tomato paste

Onion

Fresh Basil

Garlic

2 red peppers

 

Meatza/meatballs

2 # ground beef

2-3 italian sausage

pepperoni

mushrooms

mozzarella

artichoke hearts

shredded cheese

 

Brisket

Onion

Brisket

Mushrooms

 

Short Ribs

Balsalmic Vinegar

Beef Broth

Carrot

Onion

Celery

Canned diced tomatoes

Short Ribs

 

Chipotle Chicken

Chipotle Salsa

Tomato Paste

Garlic

Chicken Thighs

Lime Juice

 

Boursin Stuffed Chicken

Chicken Breasts

Bacon

Prosciutto

Cherry Tomatoes

Boursin Cheese

 

Broccolini

Green Beans

 

Finished Grocery List

Then it’s off to the store with the final list. I buy most of the meats at Whole Foods so I go straight to the butcher area and look at what they have.  Today I didn’t like the way the short ribs looked so everything in that section of the list got immediately crossed out.  After I got my meats I wandered over to the cheese area to grab the boursin and that was it.  Whole Foods totals was $74.21

 

At Trader Joe’s I got all the veggies that I needed and some prosciutto and salame.  I forgot the limes for the chipotle chicken but I have a couple of lemons left over from last week and they will work just fine. I also grabbed some extra bacon since I’m down to one package and the fantastic but addictive dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds.  Tj’s total was $48.11

Grocery total $122.32

Here's all the groceries!

In the next two weeks I might have to grab some veggies but not much else.  Over the next 2-3 days I will cook up most of that and then freeze the majority of it.  I usually leave enough for two meals in the fridge and the rest goes in the freezer.  That way nothing gets wasted.  Thinking about ways I could have cut costs a bit would be to make a simpler chicken recipe that didn’t ask for prosciutto or boursin cheese.  Choosing non-grassfed varieties of meat.  Not wandering down the middle part of Trader Joe’s where they keep the dark chocolate covered things.

Leave a Reply

